Skip to Main Content
Skip Nav Destination

Steven E. Koonin named to the Lawrence Livermore and Los Alamos Boards of Governors

15 June 2012




June 15, 2012 – Norman J. Pattiz, chairman of the Lawrence Livermore National Security, LLC (LLNS) and Los Alamos National Security, LLC (LANS), today announced that Steven E. Koonin has been named as an Independent Governor on the LLNS and LANS Boards of Governors. The LLCs manage the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory in Livermore, CA and Los Alamos National Laboratory in Los Alamos, NM, respectively, for the U.S. Department of Energy. The appointments take effect July 1.

Dr. Koonin also has been appointed to chair the LANS/LLNS Boards’ Mission Committee. The Mission Committee serves in an advisory role to review current and future national security issues and Laboratory initiatives, capabilities and strategic plans to address these issues.

“Steve Koonin is an extraordinary scientist with a long and distinguished history as an adviser on national security matters. He brings distinguished scientific and leadership experience in academia, business and government to the Boards.” Pattiz said. “When the University of California (UC) was the sole manager of the Laboratories, Steve served on a number of the advisory bodies that reviewed the scientific and national security programs at the Laboratories. In that capacity, he advised the UC President and the Lab Directors on strategy and performance. In this regard, we welcome him in his new capacity on the Boards of Governors and as Chair of the Mission Committee.”

“I have been associated with these laboratories for more than 40 years,” said Koonin. “I look forward to working in this new role to ensure that they remain vibrant technical enterprises supporting important national missions.”

Dr. Koonin, a theoretical physicist, is the Director of New York University’s Center for Urban Science and Progress. He has served as Under Secretary for Science in the U.S Department of Energy (DOE), Chief Scientist of BP, and Provost of the California Institute of Technology. He is a member and was a past chair of the JASON Study Group, advising the U.S. government on technical national security matters. He also has served on numerous advisory committees for the DOE, the National Science Foundation, and the Department of Defense, including the Defense Science Board and the Chief of Naval Operations’ Executive Panel.

Dr. Koonin is a member of the Council on Foreign Relations and is a former member of the Trilateral Commission. He is the recipient of numerous awards and honors, including election to the National Academy of Sciences, DOE’s E.O. Lawrence Award, and is a Fellow of several professional societies, including the American Physical Society, the American Association of the Advancement of Sciences, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Dr. Koonin received his B.S. in physics from the California Institute of Technology and his Ph.D. in theoretical physics from MIT.


LLNS manages the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory for the U.S. Department of Energy’s National Nuclear Security Administration. LLNS is comprised of: Bechtel National, The University of California, BWX Technologies, URS and Battelle. The team also includes Texas A&M University.

LANS operates Los Alamos National Laboratory, a multidisciplinary research institution engaged in strategic science on behalf of national security. LANS is composed of Bechtel National, the University of California, The Babcock & Wilcox Company, and URS for the Department of Energy’s National Nuclear Security Administration.


LLNS Contact: Lynda Seaver (925)

LANS Contact: Lisa Rosendorf (505) 665-0193


Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal