At Honolulu, on the island of Oahu in the Hawaiian island group, the University of Hawaii has an active Physics Department. The faculty there consists of four persons of professional grade with differing research interests. Professor Willard H. Eller, former chairman, is at present devoting most of his time to building up the instruction in electrical engineering. The present chairman is Professor Iwao Miyake, whose chief interests are in electronics and acoustics. The system of rotating department chairmanship is used. Professor K. Watanabe is principally interested in the spectroscopy of the extreme ultraviolet, and Professor Walter Steiger is interested in geophysics and solar physics. This latter field has received a large impetus of late in connection with the forthcoming International Geophysical Year.

This content is only available via PDF.
You do not currently have access to this content.