LEROY APKER, physicist at the General Electric Research Laboratory at Schenectady, has been awarded the American Physical Society's Oliver E. Buckley Solid State Physics Prize for 1955 in recognition of contributions to the understanding of the transfer of excitation energy in crystals. The prize, consisting of $1000 and a certificate of award, is presented by the Society “to a person who has been adjudged to have made a most important contribution to the advancement of knowledge in solid state physics within the five years immediately preceding the award”. It was established four years ago under the terms of a $50 000 endowment provided by the Bell Telephone Laboratories in honor of former Bell Labs President Oliver E. Buckley, who retired in 1952 after having served nearly four decades as scientist and administrator with the Bell System. The prize is administered by the APS and was presented to Dr. Apker at the banquet of the Society on January 28th during the Winter Meeting in New York City. Dr. Apker received his PhD at the University of Rochester in 1941 and since then has been a member of the G‐E Research Laboratory staff.

This content is only available via PDF.
You do not currently have access to this content.