The Optical Society of America announced the winners of its awards, medals, and prizes for 2002 at the society’s annual meeting held in Orlando, Florida, in October.

James P. Gordon received the Frederic Ives Medal/Jarus W. Quinn Endowment for his “numerous seminal contributions and fundamental insights into quantum electronics, including construction of the first maser, the concepts of confocal laser resonators, optical solitons, and quantum effects in communications systems.” Gordon retired from Bell Laboratories, Lucent Technologies, but is still active as a technical consultant.

The Esther Hoffman Beller Award was presented to Emil Wolf for his “numerous outstanding contributions as an educator, but especially for the influence of his books, which have been educating optical scientists and engineers for more than forty years.” He is the Wilson Professor of Optical Physics at the University of Rochester in New York and Provost’s Distinguished Research Professor at the University of Central Florida’s...

You do not currently have access to this content.