Chester I. Barnard, president of the Rockefeller Foundation, was elected chairman of the National Science Board of the National Science Foundation at its second annual meeting held in Washington on December 3rd. Dr. Barnard succeeds James B. Conant, president of Harvard University, who was elected to serve the initial term as chairman of the Board on December 12, 1950. Edwin B. Fred, president of the University of Wisconsin, was re‐elected vice chairman of the National Science Board. The new chairman and vice chairman were elected for two‐year terms of office as prescribed by the National Science Foundation Act of 1950. Four members of the executive committee, whose terms had expired, were also re‐elected. These were: Dr. Barnard; Detlev Bronk, president of the Johns Hopkins University and president of the National Academy of Sciences; Lee A. DuBridge, president of the California Institute of Technology; and Elvin C. Stakman, chief of the division of plant pathology and botany at the University of Minnesota.

This content is only available via PDF.
You do not currently have access to this content.