Nuclear science dominated the most recent Nobel awards in physics and chemistry, announced in mid‐November. The 1951 Nobel Prize for Physics was shared by Sir John D. Cockcroft, director of the British Atomic Energy Establishment at Harwell, and E. T. S. Walton, professor of natural and experimental philosophy of Trinity College in Dublin, for “their pioneer work on the transmutation of atomic nuclei by artificially accelerated atomic particles”. The Chemistry Prize was given jointly to Edwin M. McMillan and Glenn T. Seaborg, both of the University of California at Berkeley, for “their discoveries in the chemistry of the trans‐uranium elements”.

This content is only available via PDF.
You do not currently have access to this content.