The 1990 Nobel Prize in Physics has been awarded to Jerome Friedman and Henry Kendall of MIT and Richard Taylor of SLAC “for their pioneering investigations concerning deep inelastic scattering of electrons on protons and bound neutrons, which have been of essential importance for the development of the quark model in particle physics.” The prize of $710 000, which the three recipients shared equally, was awarded in Stockholm on 10 December.

This content is only available via PDF.
You do not currently have access to this content.