The 1983 Nobel prize in physics has been awarded to Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar (University of Chicago) “for his theoretical studies of the physical processes of importance to the structure and evolution of the stars” and to William A. Fowler (Caltech) “for his theoretical and experimental studies of the nuclear reactions of importance in the formation of the chemical elements in the Universe.” The two men shared the prize (worth about $190 000 this year) equally.

This content is only available via PDF.
You do not currently have access to this content.