One of the two Royal Medals for 1949, awarded following recommendations made by the British Royal Society Council which were formally approved by King George, has been presented to Sir George Thomson in recognition of his many contributions to atomic physics, and especially for his work in establishing the wave properties of the electron. Among the other medals recently presented by the Royal Society are the Copley Medal, awarded to G. C. de Hevesy for his work on radioactive elements and tracer techniques; the Sylvester Medal, awarded to L. J. Mordell for his mathematical work in the theory of numbers; and the Hughes Medal, awarded to C. F. Powell for his work in recording the tracks of high energy particles in photographic emulsions.

This content is only available via PDF.
You do not currently have access to this content.