Four National Bureau of Standards physicists, who, in collaboration with C. S. Wu of Columbia University, gave the first experimental confirmation of the violation of the law of parity conservation in weak interactions, have been awarded the Bureau's 1964 Samuel Wesley Stratton Award. Ernest Ambler, chief of the Cryogenic Physics Section, Raymond Hayward, chief of the Nuclear Spectroscopy Laboratory, Dale Hoppes, a Bureau nuclear spectroscopist, and Ralph Hudson, chief of the Heat Division, were named in December to receive bronze plaques and to share equally in a $5000 honorarium.

This content is only available via PDF.
You do not currently have access to this content.