John A. Wheeler of Princeton University has received the 1965 Albert Einstein Medal of the Lewis and Rosa Strauss Memorial Fund for his “outstanding achievement in the natural sciences”. The award; which was announced last spring on the 86th anniversary of the birth of Dr. Einstein and presented to Professor Wheeler on September 23rd, comprises a gold medal bearing the profile of Einstein and an honorarium of $5000. Previous recipients include Kurt Gödel, Julian Schwinger, Richard Feynman, Willard Libby, Edward Teller, Luis Alvarez, Shields Warren, and Leo Szilard.

You do not currently have access to this content.