The Ernest Orlando Lawrence Memorial Awards for 1964, given by the Atomic Energy Commission for recent meritorious contributions in the field of atomic energy, were presented to five scientists at a ceremony held on April 30 at the National Academy of Sciences building in Washington, D.C. Those receiving the awards were:

Jacob Bigeleisen of Brookhaven National Laboratory “for outstanding theoretical contributions and experimental advances in the separation of isotopes”. Dr. Bigeleisen is known for his work in chemical isotope effects, in particular isotopic fractionation in chemical equilibrium reactions, changes in chemical reaction rates caused by isotopic substitution, and vapor pressures of isotopic molecules.

You do not currently have access to this content.