On April 23, the 106th anniversary of the birth of Max Planck, the German Physical Society announced that its highest award, the Max Planck Medal, would be given to Samuel A. Goudsmit and George E. Uhlenbeck. The medal is given annually for distinguished work in theoretical physics. The Society has departed from previous custom in announcing the awards for 1964 and 1965 at the same time because of the collaboration of the two recipients in some of the work for which they were honored. Professor Uhlenbeck was scheduled to receive his medal on October 5 at the German Physical Society's meeting in Düsseldorf. Dr. Goudsmit's medal will be presented at a later meeting.

This content is only available via PDF.
You do not currently have access to this content.