Winners of this year's Gravity Research Foundation essay contest will receive their awards during ceremonies to be held by the Foundation in New Boston, N. H., on August 25. The first award ($1000) will be received by Gerald M. Clemence of the US Naval Observatory in Washington, D.C. R. L. Forward of the Hughes Research Laboratory, Malibu, Calif, has been named to receive the second prize ($300). The third prize ($200) has been won by D. W. Sciama of Cambridge University, England. The recipient of the fourth prize ($150) is Freeman J. Dyson of the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton. C. Y. Wang of Harvard will receive the fifth award ($100). Honorable mention awards will be presented to Bruno Bertotti (Frascati, Rome, Italy), L. E. Halpern (Institut de Physique, Brussels, Belgium), Christopher Hunter (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), and B. C. Maglic (University of California at Berkeley).

This content is only available via PDF.
You do not currently have access to this content.