At its Ninth International Symposium on Combustion held at Cornell University in August, the Combustion Institute presented medals to three research scientists. George B. Kistiakowsky, professor of chemistry at Harvard, received the Bernard Lewis Gold Medal “for brilliant research in the field of combustion, particularly on detonation phenomena”; Tucker Carrington of the National Bureau of Standards was awarded the Silver Combustion Medal for an outstanding paper presented at the Eighth Symposium on Combustion in 1960; Friedrich Wilhelm Jost, director of the Institute for Physical Chemistry of the University of Göttingen, was presented the Alfred C. Egerton Gold Medal for “his continuing and encouraging contributions” to the field of combustion.

This content is only available via PDF.
You do not currently have access to this content.