GREAT Britain's amalgamated Institute of Physics and the Physical Society held its first Annual General Meeting in London on July 4. Sir John Cock‐croft was elected president; V. E. Cosslett, R. W. Ditchburn, W. H. Taylor, and J. Topping, vice presidents; J. Taylor, honorary treasurer; and C. G. Wynne, honorary secretary. Eight ordinary members of council were also elected. The meeting adopted a report for 1960, which records the activities of the parent bodies up to July 5, 1960, the date on which their separate existences ceased, and of the amalgamated body thereafter. At the end of 1960, the amalgamated body had a total membership of 8720 in all grades.

This content is only available via PDF.
You do not currently have access to this content.