THE Atomic Energy Commission's Ernest Orlando Lawrence Memorial Award for 1961, conferred by the Commission on scientists less than 45 years old who have made “recent, especially meritorious contributions to the development, use or control of atomic energy,” was presented on April 28 to five scientists. Three of the $5000 awards went to physicists: Henry Hurwitz, Jr. (General Electric Research Laboratories, Schenectady), cited for his contributions to reactor theory and design; Conrad L. Longmire (Los Alamos Scientific Laboratory), for his theoretical investigations in the fields of nuclear weapons development and plasma physics; and Wolfgang K. H. Panofsky (High Energy Physics Laboratory, Stanford), for his work in nuclear physics and the international control of nuclear testing. Leo Brewer (Lawrence Radiation Laboratory, University of California, Berkeley), received the award for singular contributions and leadership in the development of high‐temperature chemistry which have permitted major advances in reactor development, and K. G. Wilzbach (Argonne National Laboratory, Argonne, Ill.), for his development of methods of tritium labelling of biologically important compounds which have permitted major advances in biology and medicine.

You do not currently have access to this content.