In Britain, the Council of the recently amalgamated Institute of Physics and Physical Society has announced that it has made three awards, one of which has been received by an American physicist. Scott E. Forbush, mathematical physicist on the staff of the Department of Terrestrial Magnetism of the Carnegie Institution of Washington, was named to receive the Charles Chree Medal and Prize for distinguished contributions in the study of cosmic radiation. The other award winners are J. B. Adams, director‐general of the European Organization for Nuclear Research, who has been given the Duddell Medal for his leadership of the CERN team, and A. W. Merrison, professor of experimental physics in the Nuclear Physics Research Laboratory of the University of Liverpool, who received the Charles Vernon Boys Prize for distinguished research in experimental physics.

This content is only available via PDF.
You do not currently have access to this content.