ON May 1 the Dannie Heineman Prize for Mathematical Physics, endowed by the Heineman Foundation for Research, Educational, Charitable and Scientific Purposes, Inc., was presented for the first time under the auspices of the American Institute of Physics and the American Physical Society. The $2500 prize was awarded to Murray Gell‐Mann, professor of physics at the California Institute of Technology, at the banquet held during the Physical Society's spring meeting in Washington, D.C. The first of five such awards to be given at two‐year intervals under the terms of the Heineman Foundation endowment, the prize was established to encourage research in mathematical physics and to recognize outstanding contributions to the published literature. The endowment fund is administered by the AIP and prizes are to be given to individuals selected in each case by a committee appointed by the Society's Council. Dr. Gell‐Mann, who was chosen to receive this year's award by a committee consisting of APS President G. E. Uhlenbeck, Vice President V. F. Weisskopf, and Past President E. P. Wigner, was cited for his “contributions to field theory and to the theory of elementary particles as examples of outstanding publication in the field of mathematical physics”.

This content is only available via PDF.
You do not currently have access to this content.