Skip to Main Content
Skip Nav Destination


The 9th Chinese National Conference on Secondary Ion Mass Spectrometry (SIMS-China IX) was held October 11-15, 2023 in Shenyang, China. The Biointerphases Poster Award winners were:

Liu Jie, China University of Mining & Technology: Characterization of Han Dynasty wool textile dyes from Ili, Xinjiang, China by TOF- SIMS

Yi Chen, Chinese Academy of Sciences: Design method and construction of the Schwarzschild microscope with high numerical aperture for secondary ion mass spectrometry

He Ping, China University of Mining & Technology: TOF-SIMS fingerprints study of important active ingredients in Scutellaria baicalensis

Ma Shu-cheng, University of Science and Technology of China: Study on effect of RE on carbides and their behavior in high speed steel

Announcing the Biointerphases Poster Award winner at the 12th International Conference on Advanced Vibrational Spectroscopy (ICAVS-12), held August 27 – September 1, 2023:

Timea Frosch, with Conference Co-Chair Katarzyna Majzner

Timea Frosch (L), with Conference Co-Chair Katarzyna Majzner

Timea Frosch, Leibniz-Institute of Photonic Technology, Germany: Raman Spectroscopic Approaches for Drug Monitoring

Cellular Matters Conference 2023 was held June 4-7, 2023 in Ascona, Switzerland. The Biointerphases Poster Award winners were:

Hannes Ausserwöger, University of Cambridge, UK: Condensate partitioning governs the mechanism of action of FUS phase separation modulators

Lukas Hauer, Humboldt-Universität Berlin, Germany: Intracellular wetting between biomembranes and liquid-like condensed phases

Chiara Morelli, ETH Zürich, Switzerland: RNA modulates hnRNPA1A condensates to amyloid transition

Dorota Pfizenmaier, ETH Zürich, Switzerland: Exploring the pH-sensing reversible human "amylome"

The Pacific Rim Symposium on Surfaces, Coatings & Interfaces (PacSurf 2022) was held December 11-15, 2022 in Waikoloa Beach, Hawaii. The Biointerphases Poster Award winners were:

First Prize - Louis Chen, University of Washington, USA

Second Prize - Mia-Rose Kayaian, Cal State Fresno, USA: Modifying commercially-available wound dressing materials with continuous and pulsed 1,8-cineole plasma

Third Prize - Ashley Keobounnam, Cal State Fresno, USA: Using cinnamaldehyde plasma treatment to develop an antioxidant coating

The AVS 68th International Symposium & Exhibition was held November 6-11, 2022 in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. The Biointerphases Poster Award winners were:

First Prize - Ainslie Allen, University of Maine, USA

Second Prize - Alam Mohammad Shahidul, Kanazawa University, Japan

The 2022 Oregon Bioengineering Symposium was held October 6, 2022 in Corvallis, Oregon. The Biointerphases Poster Award winners were:

Jade Minzlaff, Oregon State University, USA: Field-Use Electrochemical Sensor for the Detection of Carbamazepine in Water

Lael Wentland, Oregon State University, USA: Towards a field-use electrochemical sensor for carbamazepine quantification in saliva

Haylie Helms, Oregon Health & Science University, USA: Development of a Single-Cell Bioprinting Platform for Systematic Assessment of Cell-to-Cell Communication in the Early Tumor Microenvironment

Katherine Fors, Boise State University, USA: Comparison of open source software for analysis of fiber orientation and alignment

Kate Benfield, Boise State University, USA

ECONOS 2022 was held September 25-28, 2022 in Kiruna, Sweden. The following awards were sponsored by Biointerphases:

Travel grant - Chiara Ceconello, Politecnico di Milano, Italy

Best Poster - Jonas Ravelid, Lund University, Sweden: Sideways Lasing in Atomic Oxygen

The 3rd Ice Binding Proteins Conference was held July 29-August 1, 2022 in Kingston, Ontario. Poster prizes were awarded to:

Best Poster - Rodrick Tas, Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands: Revealing the interfacial interactions of single, ice-bound antifreeze proteins through subzero nanoscopy

Jeongmoon Choi, University of Pennsylvania, USA: Identifying Ice-Philic Patches to Inform the Ice Binding Sites of Antifreeze Proteins

Ingrid Ribeiro, University of Utah, USA: Tetramer is the minimum size of the INP aggregate in the nucleation spectrum of Ps. Syringae

Jocelyn Lee, Queens University, Canada: Probing the structure-function relationships of a bacterial ice nucleation protein guided by its AlphaFold model

Katrin Bamberg, Kiel University, Germany

Johanna Winder, University of East Anglia, UK : The ice-binding proteins of Fragilariopsis cylindrus: a computational exploration of genetic, structural and evolutionary features

The 9th International Conference on Plasma Medicine (ISPC9) was held June 27-July 1, 2022 in Utrecht, Netherlands. Student awards were given to:

Julia Sutter, Drexel University, USA

Julien Bissonnette-Dulude, Polytechnique Montréal, Canada

The FEBS Advanced Lecture Course on Biological Surfaces and Interfaces: Forces at biological interfaces was held June 19-24, 2022 in Sant Feliu de Guixols, Spain. Poster awards were given to:

Image of <em>Biointerphases</em> Associate Editor Caitlin Howell, Lukas Lau, Zeinab Rekad, Julian Hengesteler

From left: Biointerphases Associate Editor Caitlin Howell, Lukas Lau, Zeinab Rekad, Julian Hengesteler

Lukas Lau, ICFO, Spain

Zeinab Rekad, Université Côte d’Azur, France

Julian Hengsteler, ETH Zürich, Switzerland

Announcing the Biointerphases award winners from the 27th Annual Conference of the Australasian Society for Biomaterials and Tissue Engineering (ASBTE), held April 20-22, 2022 in Melbourne, Australia. Winners are pictured with past Biointerphases Editor-in-Chief Sally McArthur (Swinburne University of Technology, Australia).

Nick HuettnerOutstanding Student Poster Presentation:
Nick Huettner, Queensland University of Technology, Australia

Jessie ClareStudent Poster Presentation Runner-Up:
Jessie Clare, Swinburne University of Technology, Australia

Dr Richard TanOutstanding ECR Oral Presentation:
Dr Richard Tan, University of Sydney, Australia

Dr Rachael WoodECR Oral Presentation Runner-Up:
Dr Rachael Wood, University of Canterbury, New Zealand


Clara Liu Chung MingRapid Fire Presentation Runner-Up:
Clara Liu Chung Ming, University of Technology Sydney, Australia

The AVS Biomaterial Interfaces Division Poster Competition was held in conjunction with the AVS 67 Virtual Symposium, held October 25-28, 2021. Biointerphases sponsored the poster awards below:

Trevor FranklinFirst Place: Trevor Franklin, Cornell University, USA
"Polymeric Thin Films Designed to Direct Pseudomonas aeruginosa Iron Scavenging, Biofilm Growth, and Pathogenicity"

Anna KotowskaSecond Place: Anna Kotowska, University of Nottingham, UK
“Analysis of intact proteins in the 3D OrbiSIMS”

Third Place: Justin Hardcastle, University of Maine, USA

Announcing the Biointerphases poster award winner from Biointerfaces International 2021, held online August 18-19, 2021:

Carina AdeCarina Ade, iNANO – Aarhus University, Denmark
“Polymeric nanoparticles as carrier for artificial organelles containing a catalase mimic”

The Telluride Science Research Center (TSRC) workshop on “Interfacial Molecular and Electronic Structure and Dynamics” was held online from June 13-17, 2020. Biointerphases Student Presentation Awards were given to:

Marie Bischoff Marie Bischoff, Laboratory for Fundamental BioPhotonics, EPFL Lausanne, Switzerland

Christopher Baryiames Christopher Baryiames, Baiz Group, The University of Texas at Austin


Ken Judd Ken Judd, Laboratory of Biointerfaces, The Pennsylvania State University


Close Modal

or Create an Account

Close Modal
Close Modal