This lectureship recognizes early career scientists paving the path forward in the areas of chemical physics and physical chemistry.

The recipient of this annual lectureship will be invited to give a talk at the Division of Chemical Physics (DCP) Award Session taking place at the following year’s APS March Meeting. The recipient will also receive a 2000 USD travel award and invitation to submit a Perspective, Tutorial, or Review to JCP.

Eligibility Requirements
Candidates for the award must meet the following criteria:

  1. Candidates for the award must be within 10 years of receiving their PhD at the time of nomination.*
  2. Candidates must be the corresponding author of a paper published in The Journal of Chemical Physics within the last 5 years.

We encourage nominations from a diverse group of potential nominees that includes women, members of underrepresented minority groups and scientists outside the United States.

Multiple nominations will not be considered for a single candidate - please confirm with nominees that only one nomination is received on their behalf.

*discounting career breaks such as maternity/paternity leave, elder care, or others

Nomination and Selection Process

Deadline: April 30, 2024

Nominations should consist of :

  1. Nominee information
    1. nominee’s contact information
    2. current institution
    3. Date of PhD degree
    4. DOI of JCP paper published within last 5 years
  2. A nomination letter (under 5000 characters including spaces) identifying the nominee’s achievements in research and its impact on their field
  3. CV of nominee, including list of publications

Please fill out this form for submission.

The 2024 Selection Committee will consist of the APS DCP Chair-Elect or other DCP representative, JCP Editors and advisory board members.

All inquiries can be directed to


Fang Liu

Fang Liu (2023)
Emory University, Atlanta, GA, USA

Fang Liu is an Assistant Professor in Chemistry at Emory University. She obtained her B.S. from the Department of Chemical Physics at the University of Science and Technology of China in 2011 and her Ph.D. in Chemistry from Stanford University under the supervision of Professor Todd J. Martínez in 2017. After that, she was a postdoctoral scholar in the group of Professor Heather J. Kulik at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology from 2017 to 2020. Her research group at Emory University was founded in 2020 and focuses on overcoming challenges in the data-driven discovery of solution-phase molecules. Her group accelerates the generation of high-quality computational datasets for solution-phase chemistry by developing Graph Processing Unit (GPU) algorithms, automation workflows, and machine learning models. She is the recipient of JCP-DCP Future of Chemical Physics Lectureship, the 2023 Scialog Fellow for Automating Chemical Laboratories, the 2022 Scialog Fellow for Signatures of Life in the Universe, the ACS Petroleum Research Foundation New Doctoral Investigator, and the 2018 Nvidia GPU Award of American Chemical Society.

Haiming Zhu

Haiming Zhu (2022)
Zhejiang University, Hangzhou, China

Haiming Zhu is now a tenure-track assistant professor in the Department of Chemistry at Zhejiang University, China. He obtained his BS degree from the University of Science and Technology of China and PhD in Physical Chemistry from Emory University in 2014. Afterwards, he worked as a postdoc scientist in Xiaoyang Zhu’s group at Columbia University in New York City. Since late 2016, he has joined the Department of Chemistry at Zhejiang University, China. Haiming Zhu has been developing and applying spatio-temporally resolved ultrafast laser spectroscopy to investigate the excited state electronic and structural dynamics in the emerging optoelectronic materials, which aims to resolve the fundamental questions and provide designing principles for their light harvesting and energy conversion applications. He is the recipient of JCP-DCP Future of Chemical Physics Lectureship, the 2022 Robin Hochstrasser Young Investigator Award, the Distinguished Lectureship Award by the Chemical Society of Japan, and the Sturge Prize by the International Conference on Dynamical Processes in Excited States of Solids.

Kaifeng Wu (2021)
Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics, Dalian, China

Kaifeng Wu obtained his BS degree from University of Science and Technology of China in 2010. He then studied at Emory University and obtained his PhD in 2015 under the supervision of Tim Lian. After that, he was a Director’s postdoctoral fellow at Los Alamos National Laboratory in the group of Victor Klimov. In May 2017 he moved to Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, as a Principal Investigator. He now leads the research group of Ultrafast Dynamics of Optoelectronic Materials. His research interests are ultrafast spectroscopy and its application in charge, exciton and spin dynamics of quantum-confined systems for emerging energy and quantum technologies. He is the winner of the 2022 Chemical Society of Japan Lectureship Award, 2021 American Physical Society Future of Chemical Physics Lectureship Award, 2020 Chinese Chemical Society Prize for Young Scientists, 2019 Robin Hochstrasser Young Investigator Award by the Chemical Physics journal, and 2018 American Chemical Society Victor K. LaMer Award.

Renee Frontiera (2020)
University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN, USA

Renee R. Frontiera is the Northrop Professor of Chemistry at the University of Minnesota. Her research group uses Raman spectroscopic techniques to examine chemical composition and chemical reaction dynamics on nanometer length scales and ultrafast time scales. She received her Ph. D. in 2009 from the University of California – Berkeley, under the advisement of Richard A. Mathies. Her postdoctoral research at Northwestern University was under the supervision of Richard P. Van Duyne. Her research group at the University of Minnesota was founded in 2013, and she is the recent recipient of an NSF CAREER award, a DOE Early Career award, and an NIH Maximizing Investigators’ Research Award (MIRA). She was named one of Chemical & Engineering News’s “Talented 12”, and has won a Journal of Physical Chemistry Lectureship, the American Physical Society’s “Future of Chemical Physics” lectureship, and a Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar award.