André Anders
Director, Leibniz Institute of Surface Engineering (IOM), Leipzig, Germany

André Anders studied physics in Poland, (East) Germany, and Russia (then Soviet Union) and earned his Ph.D. in physics at Humboldt University Berlin, Germany, in 1987. Following appointments as staff scientist at the Central Institute for Electron Physics in (East) Berlin, Germany, and the Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics in Garching, Germany, Dr. Anders joined Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL) in Berkeley, California, in 1992 and served as senior scientist and leader of the Plasma Applications Group until 2017. He is currently a Professor of Applied Physics at the Felix Bloch Institute of the University of Leipzig, and the Director of the Leibniz Institute of Surface Modification (Leipzig, Germany).

Research Interests: Plasma physics and materials science, including coatings and thin film synthesis, high power impulse magnetron sputtering, cathodic vacuum arc plasma and ion sources, gas plasma sources, ion implantation, and plasma immersion ion implantation, transparent conducting oxides, and electrochromic materials.

Professional Activities and Awards: Fellow of the American Physical Society, Fellow of the American Vacuum Society, Fellow of the Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, and Fellow of the Institute of Physics. Dr. Anders has been recognized through numerous awards, including the Walter Dyke Award, the highest award of the International Symposia of Electrical Discharges and Insulation in Vacuum (2014); the Mentor Award of the Society of Vacuum Coaters (2011); the IEEE Merit Award of the IEEE Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society (2010); and the Chatterton Award (1994).

Deputy Editors

Christian Brosseau
Université de Bretagne Occidentale, France

Christian Brosseau received his Ph.D. in physics from the Université Joseph Fourier, Grenoble, France, in 1989. After a research associate position at that university, he moved to the Université de Bretagne Occidentale, Brest, France, in 1994 as an associate professor in the Department of Physics. In 2010, he became a distinguished professor in the department, where he remains today.

Research Interests: Magnetism and electromagnetic wave propagation in complex media, plasmonics, image processing (polarization), nanophysics, biological physics, and computational materials physics.

Professional Activities and Awards: Fellow of the Optical Society of America, Fellow of the Institute of Physics, and Fellow of the Electromagnetics Academy. Dr. Brosseau has served on the editorial boards of Optics Communications (2005-2008), Optics Letters (2005-2010), and the American Journal of Physics (2008-2010). He continues to serve on the boards of Nanotechnology, the Journal of Nanomaterials, and Progress in Optics. A prolific author, with 186 articles in international journals and three book chapters, his publications have been cited more than 4600 times. He also holds two patents.

Laurie E. McNeil
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC, USA

Laurie McNeil obtained her Ph.D. in physics from the University of Illinois in 1982 and spent two years as an IBM Postdoctoral Fellow at the MIT Center for Materials Science and Engineering. She then joined the faculty at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (UNC-CH). She is the Bernard Gray Distinguished Professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy at UNC-CH and chaired the department from 2004-2009. She was also interim chair of the Curriculum in Applied and Materials Sciences from 2007-2008.

Research Interests: Optical spectroscopy of semiconductors and insulators and materials physics of crystalline organic semiconductors for electronic applications.

Professional Activities and Awards: Fellow of the American Physical Society and Chapman Faculty Fellow and Academic Leadership Fellow in the Institute for the Arts and Humanities at UNC-CH. Dr. McNeil has received numerous awards, including the William F. Little Award for Distinguished Service from UNC-CH. Active within her professional community, she has chaired both the Southeastern Section of the American Physical Society and the APS Committee on the Status of Women in Physics. She is currently co-chair of the APS/AAPT Joint Task Force on Undergraduate Physics Programs (J-TUPP).

Simon R. Phillpot
University of Florida, Gainesville, FL, USA

Simon Phillpot received his Ph.D. in physics from the University of Florida in 1985. After a postdoctoral fellowship at Xerox Webster Research Center, he worked at Argonne National Laboratory for 16 years, first as a postdoctoral associate and then as a physicist and group leader in the Materials Science Division. Returning to the University of Florida in 2003 as a professor in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, he became chair of the department in 2010. In addition, he was also was appointed professor of nuclear engineering and was director of the Nuclear Engineering Program from 2011 to 2014.

Research Interests: Phonon-mediated heat transfer in ceramics, deformation behavior of metals, dielectric and ferroelectric properties of oxides, nuclear materials, and simulation methodology development.

Professional Activities and Awards: Fellow of the American Physical Society, Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, Fellow of the Institute of Physics, and Fellow of the Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining. In 2011, Thomson Reuters named Dr. Phillpot as one of the Top 100 most influential materials scientists worldwide. He is the author/co-author of over 240 peer-reviewed publications, including “Nanoscale Thermal Transport" in Applied Physics Reviews, 93, 793-818, (2003), which has been cited over 1600 times.

Associate Editors

David Aspnes
North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC , USA

Marcela Bilek
University of Sydney, Australia

Elif Ertekin
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Urbana, IL, USA

Rachel S. Goldman
University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI, USA

Jaime Gómez Rivas
Eindhoven University of Technology, Eindhoven, The Netherlands

Axel Hoffmann
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Urbana, IL, USA

Peter Hosemann
University of California, Berkeley, Berkeley, CA, USA

Pawel Keblinski
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Troy, NY, USA

Jiangyu Li
Southern University of Science and Technology, Shenzhen, China

Wei Lu
Shanghai Institute of Technical Physics, Shanghai, China

Andreas Mandelis
University of Toronto, Toronto, Canada

François M. Peeters
University of Antwerp, Belgium

Alain Polian
Université Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris, France

Yevgeny Raitses
Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory, Princeton, NJ, USA

Jian Shi
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Troy, NY, USA

Zhiting Tian
Cornell University, Ithaca, NY, USA

Masayoshi Tonouchi
Osaka University, Osaka, Japan

Paolo Vavassori
CIC nanoGune Consolider, San Sebastian, Spain

Kin Man Yu
City University of Hong Kong, Kowloon, Hong Kong

Previous Editors-in-Chief

2000-2014: P. James Viccaro

1990–2000: Stephen J. Rothman

1974–1989: Lester Guttman

1970–1973: Gilbert J. Perlow

1970: Foster F. Rieke

1965–1970: Frank E. Myers

1960–1964: J. H. Crawford, Jr.

1957–1960: James A. Krumhansl

1954–1957: Robert L. Sproull

1937–1954: Elmer Hutchisson

1931–1936: John T. Tate (Physics)