The Edward N. Lorenz Early Career Award aims to recognize outstanding research in nonlinear science by Chaos authors.

Eligibility Requirements

Candidates for the Edward N. Lorenz Early Career Award must meet the following criteria:

  1. Be within 8 years of receiving their Master’s, 5 years of receiving their PhD,¹ or a current student.
  2. Be the first author on a paper published in Chaos in the award year.
  3. Not have won the award previously.

Instructions for consideration

Submissions that are self-identified as eligible are considered for the Edward N. Lorenz Early Career Award. In order to be considered, submit your manuscript to CHA’s online submissions site. During the “Additional Information” step, select “Yes” for the “Manuscript Award” question to indicate that the first author is within 8 years of receiving their Master’s, 5 years of receiving their PhD,¹ or is a current student.

Selection Process

The winners of the Edward N. Lorenz Early Career Award are chosen by a committee of Chaos editors.

The Prize

The winners of the Edward N. Lorenz award will evenly split a $2000 USD² honorarium and are invited to contribute a Perspective article to the journal.

The winners will be offered an appointment to Chaos' Editorial Advisory Board.

Papers will be highlighted on the Chaos website and featured in an email announcement to the journal community.


For questions about eligibility, the selection process, or the award, send an email to

¹Not including career breaks such as parental leave, disability leave, or elder care.

²The winner is responsible for all federal, state, or local taxes that might be due for prize money. The winner agrees to comply with all tax reporting in accordance with applicable federal, state, and local laws.



Yuzuru Kato received his M.S. degree in engineering from Keio University in 2014 and his Ph.D. degree in engineering from the Tokyo Institute of Technology in 2020. He was a researcher at the Hitachi Central Research Laboratory, Hitachi, Ltd. from 2014 to 2017, and at the Keio Leading-edge Laboratory of Science and Technology at Keio University from 2017 to 2018. He was a postdoctoral researcher at the Tokyo Institute of Technology from 2020 to 2022. Since 2022, he has been an associate professor at the Department of Complex and Intelligent Systems, Future University Hakodate. His main research interests are nonlinear dynamics, open quantum systems, control theory, stochastic processes, and their applications to nonlinear phenomena such as synchronization and pattern formation.

Thomas Lilienkamp received his Ph.D. in physics from the University of Göttingen under the supervision of apl. Prof. Dr. Ulrich Parlitz in 2018. In 2022, he finished his postdoctoral at the Max Planck Institute for Dynamics and Self-Organization. Since March of 2023, he has been a permanent W2 professor for computational physics in life science at the Technische Hochschule Nürnberg (Nuremberg Institute of Technology). His work explores the fundamental mechanisms underlying cardiac arrhythmias using numerical simulations, with a goal to create efficient control strategies and improve medical treatments for patients. Part of this includes developing low energy defibrillation strategies to reduce the severe side effects associated with their high energy counterparts.

Tiemo Pedergnana is a doctoral student at ETH Zürich under Prof. Noiray, where he conducts theoretical, experimental, and numerical research in acoustics for combustion and metamaterial applications. In the past, he has worked on vibrations of elastic beams and plates, model reduction with spectral submanifolds, exact Navier-Stokes solutions and objective flow visualization. His core interest is the development of new methods for the analysis of dynamical systems with a strong focus on applying them to real-world experiments.

2022 selection committee

The editors would like to thank the following members of the award committee for volunteering their time to evaluate the papers and determine this year’s winners:

  • Istvan Kiss, St. Louis University
  • Ulrich Parlitz, Max Planck Institute for Dynamics and Self-Organization
  • Jie (Rio) Sun, Theory Lab of Huawei Tech.