Opportunities for Early Career Researchers

Early Career Editorial Advisory Board

Deadline for applications: April 30, 2021
The Early Career Editorial Advisory Board (ECEAB) is a part of the Editorial Advisory Board (EAB). In addition to regular EAB duties, the ECEAB members advise the Editors of APL Photonics on matters of specific importance to early career researchers, on the scientific and educational content of the journal, and on matters of editorial policy. Five new members are chosen each year for a 2-year term. They are asked to attend one webinar with the Editors and Editorial Advisory Board per year and one in-person meeting with the Editorial Advisory Board within their two-year term.

Learn more and apply today!

APL Photonics Future Luminary Award - Submit Your Paper

The Future Luminary Award recognizes the achievements of highly promising early career researchers with the potential to become luminaries in the field of photonics.
Prizes include:

  • 3,000 USD honorarium
  • Recognition at a celebratory reception at CLEO with up to a 2,000 USD travel reimbursement
  • Invitation to write an Invited Article in APL Photonics(open access article processing fee waived)
  • Invitation to join the Early Career Editorial Advisory Board (see above)

First authors of papers published between December 1, 2019 and November 30, 2020 will be considered for the 2020 award. Eligible articles published after November 30, 2020 will be considered for the next award cycle.

Learn more and submit today!

APL Photonics Associate Editor Baohua Jia Elected as 2021 OSA Fellow

Congratulations to Prof. Jia for being elected as a 2021 Fellow of The Optical Society "for outstanding and sustained contributions to the research and development of ultrafast laser fabrication and two-dimensional photonics"!

APL Photonics is sponsoring WOMBAT 2019

The journal is sponsoring the 3rd Workshop on OptoMechanics and Brillouin Scattering: Fundamentals, Applications and Technologies (WOMBAT), to be held on March 26-28, 2019, in Tel-Aviv, Israel. The abstract submission deadline is October 22, 2018. Submit yours here today!

Call for papers!
New Special Topic: Coherent Raman Spectroscopy and Imaging

Guest Editors: Andreas Zumbusch, Yasyuki Ozeki, Zhiwei Huang, and APL Photonics Associate Editor Keisuke Goda
Submission deadline: February 28th, 2018
For more information and submission instructions, please visit the Coherent Raman Spectroscopy and Imaging special topic information page.

Call for papers!
New Special Topic: Opportunities in Neurophotonics

Guest Editors: Kishan Dholakia, Jana Kainerstorfer, and APL Photonics Associate Editor Fiorenzo Omenetto
Submission deadline: March 19th, 2018
For more information and submission instructions, please visit the Opportunities in Neurophotonics special topic information page.

APL Photonics welcomes new Associate Editor

Professor Baohua Jia (Swinburne University of Technology, Melbourne, Australia) has joined the APL Photonics Editors' Team. Welcome Baohua!

Special Topic Section "Frontiers on THz Photonic Devices" - Call for Papers

Open for submissions: May 1, 2017
Submission deadline: October 31, 2017
Guest Editors: Shaghik Atakaramians (The University of Sydney, Australia), Michael Johnston (University of Oxford, UK), Rajind Mendis (Brown University, US), and Willie Padilla (Duke University, US).
For more information and submission instructions, please visit the Frontiers on THz Photonic Devices special topic information page .

Congratulations to Benjamin Eggleton!

Benjamin Eggleton, Editor-in-Chief of APL Photonics, has been elected Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science for his seminal contributions to the fields of optics, photonics and optical communications technology: congratulations Ben!

Congratulations to Associate Editor Jens Biegert!

Jens Biegert has been elected to the 2016 class of Fellows of the Optical Society (OSA) "for pioneering work in the development of ultrashort and intense few cycle pulses in the midinfrared, and their use in analyzing the structure of molecules".

Congratulations to Editorial Advisory Board Member Nader Engheta!

Nader Engheta has been nominated a National Academy of Inventors (NAI) Fellow. Election to NAI Fellow status is a high professional distinction accorded to academic inventors who have demonstrated a highly prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development, and the welfare of society.

Introducing APL Photonics

Editor-in-Chief Benjamin Eggleton discusses his current research and his vision for APL Photonics.