Prof. Monica Lira-Cantú

Mónica Lira-Cantú is a Full Professor and Group Leader of the Nanostructured Materials for Photovoltaic Energy Group at the Catalan Institute of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology in Barcelona, Spain. Her research interests are the synthesis and application of nanostructured materials for emerging solar cells like dye-sensitized, hybrid, organic and perovskite solar cells and the integration of different types of energy technologies for self-power electronics and the production of green energy. She has more than 125 publications, including 110 published articles in scientific journals, one book, 10 book chapters, and nine patents. She is a reviewer for more than 30 scientific organizations and more than 50 scientific journals. She worked as a staff chemist for ExxonMobil Research & Engineering (USA), a visiting professor at EPFL (Switzerland) and a visiting scientist at the Center for Advanced Science and Innovation (Japan), Oslo University (Norway), and the Risø DTU National Laboratory for Sustainable Energy (Denmark). She is also a panel member of the ERC Advanced Grant PE11 since 2021 and Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC) and the Cannon Foundation in Europe.

Associate Editors

Valeria Nicolosi

Valeria Nicolosi holds the position of Professor of Nanomaterials and Advanced Microscopy at the School of Chemistry in Trinity College Dublin. She is a distinguished nanotechnologist whose expertise lies in the realm of low-dimensional nanostructures and high-end electron microscopy. In 2001, she earned her BSc in Chemistry from the University of Catania, followed by a PhD in Physics from Trinity College Dublin in 2006. She moved to the University of Oxford in February 2008 as a Marie Curie Fellow. In April 2008 she was awarded with a Royal Academy of Engineering/EPSRC Fellowship. In 2012 she returned to TCD as Research Professor. In 2016 she was promoted to Chair of Nanomaterials and Advanced Microscopy. She is the first woman to have reached the position of Chair in the School of Chemistry since the foundation of TCD in 1592. She is a Principal Investigator in the Science Foundation Ireland funded research centres AMBER (The National Centre for Advanced Materials and BioEngineering Research) and IForm (The National Centre for additive manufacturing). In 2019, Prof. Nicolosi was elected as a member of the Royal Irish Academy, further solidifying her standing in the academic community.
Prof. Nicolosi's research encompasses the synthesis, exfoliation, and characterization of two-dimensional materials, with a specific emphasis on applications in energy storage. She actively employs advanced electron microscopy techniques, including aberration-corrected transmission electron microscopy (TEM), scanning transmission electron microscopy (STEM), electron energy loss spectroscopy (EELS), and energy-dispersive X-ray spectroscopy (EDX), to investigate material properties, and correlate these to devices performance.

Yabing Qi

Yabing Qi is Professor and Unit Director of Energy Materials and Surface Sciences Unit at Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology Graduate University (OIST) in Japan. He received his B.S., M.Phil., and Ph.D. from Nanjing University, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, and University of California Berkeley, respectively. Before joining OIST, he was a postdoctoral fellow in Prof. Antoine Kahn’s group in Princeton University. His research interests include surface/interface sciences, perovskite solar cells, perovskite light emitting diodes, lithium ion batteries, and organic electronics (https://groups.oist.jp/emssu). He has published over 200 articles with a current h-index of 77 and over 22000 citations, and is the co-inventor for 14 patents / patent applications. He has been invited to deliver over 100 invited and keynote talks worldwide at international conferences, symposia, workshops, and universities, and has organized over 10 international symposia as the lead organizer or co-organizer. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, MRS Fellow, Fellow of the American Vacuum Society, Clarivate Highly Cited Researcher, and the recipient of Kao Science Award and JSPS Prize.

Xingbin Yan

Xingbin Yan is a Professor at School of Materials Science and Engineering, Sun Yat-Sen University in China. He gained his B.S. and Ph.D. in Department of Chemistry, Shan Dong University and Lanzhou Institute of Chemical Physics (LICP), Chinese Academy of Sciences, respectively. After post-doctoral work at Nanyang Technological University (Singapore) and University of Lyon 1 (France), he joined LICP at 2009 and became the director of the Laboratory of Clean Energy Chemistry and Materials at 2012. In 2021, he joined School of Materials Science and Engineering, Sun Yat-Sen University as a full professor. His main research interests focus on the novel electrode materials and electrolytes for electrochemical energy storage devices, especially supercapacitors and new metal-ion batteries. Up to now, he has published more than 270 SCI papers, and these papers have been totally cited over 15000 times with an H-index of 69. He has received the First Prize of Gansu Natural Science Award (2019), the Second Prize of National Technological Invention Award (2016), the First Prize of Gansu Technological Invention Award (2015), the Youth Day Award of Gansu Province (2015) and the Outstanding Tutor Award of Chinese Academy of Sciences (2020).

Past Editors

Samira Siahrostami (Associate Editor, 2022-2023)