Board of Managers

Thomas Koetzle, Fellow of the American Crystallographic Association
Penelope Lewis, Chief Publishing Officer, AIP Publishing



George N. Phillips, Jr.
Ralph and Dorothy Looney Professor 
Department of Biochemistry and Cell Biology 
Rice University, MS140 
6100 Main Street 
Houston, TX 77005-1892

After completing his undergraduate and Ph.D. degrees at Rice University in the 1970s, Dr. Phillips pursued postdoctoral training in the Structural Biology Laboratory at the Rosenstiel Center at Brandeis University. He served as assistant professor at the University of Illinois-Urbana-Champaign, followed by his return to Rice University in 1987 as professor of biochemistry. In 2000, he moved to the University of Wisconsin-Madison, but returned yet again to Rice University in 2012 as the Ralph and Dorothy Looney Professor in the Department of Biochemistry and Cell Biology and the Department of Chemistry.

Research Interests: Dr. Phillips’ research interests are centered on the relationship of structure and dynamics on the biological function of macromolecules and the development of new methods to study these relationships using both experimental and computational approaches.

Professional Activities and Awards: Dr. Phillips has been active in crystallography and structural biology in many ways. He has served on many advisory boards of organizations related to the study of structure and dynamics of proteins and has also served as president of the American Crystallographic Association. He is an elected Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He has deposited more than 350 entries to the Protein Data Bank and has over 250 refereed publications in journals, ranging in scope from physics to chemistry to biochemistry to computer science, applied mathematics, and crystallography.

Associate Editors

Thomas Elsässer 
Max-Born-Institute for Nonlinear Optics and 
Short-Pulse Spectroscopy 
Berlin, Germany

After studying physics at the University of Heidelberg and the Technical University of Munich, Dr. Elsässer received the Dr. rer. nat. degree in 1986. From 1986 until 1993, he worked as a research associate at the TU, Munich. In 1990, he spent a postdoc period at AT&T Bell Laboratories in Holmdel, NJ, and finished his habilitation in 1991. In 1993, he joined the newly established Max-Born-Institute as a director and received a joint appointment from Humboldt University in 1994.

Research interest: Dr. Elsässer’s research focuses on ultrafast processes in condensed matter. His main topics are multidimensional terahertz and vibrational spectroscopy of hydrogen bonds in liquids and macromolecules, ultrafast dynamics of low-energy excitations in bulk and nanostructured solids, and ultrafast structural dynamics of solids. He has pioneered femtosecond x-ray methods for mapping atomic and electronic charge motions in crystalline phases.

Professional activities and awards: Dr. Elsässer has published more than 400 reviewed papers and has given 280 invited talks. He has served as chair of several international conferences and as a divisional associate editor of Physical Review Letters. He received a number of scientific prizes, including the Rudolf Kaiser Prize in 1991, the Otto Klung Prize in 1995, and the Julius Springer Prize in 2012. He is a fellow of the American Physical Society and the Optical Society of America and received an Advanced Research Grant from the European Research Council in 2009. 

Bradley J. Siwick
Associate Professor and Canada Research Chair in Ultrafast Science 
Department of Physics and Department of Chemistry (Joint) 
McGill University, Canada 
Center for the Physics of Materials 
Montreal, Canada

Bradley Siwick received his undergraduate degree in Engineering Physics and his Ph. D. in Physics from the University of Toronto, Canada. After completing his Ph. D. in 2004, he joined the Institute for Atomic and Molecular Physics (AMOLF, The Netherlands) as a Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) postdoctoral fellow before taking a faculty position jointly in the Departments of Physics and Department of Chemistry at McGill University (Montreal, Canada) in 2006. His research has focused on instrument development and atomic-level studies of structural dynamics in molecules and materials using a combination of time-resolved electron diffraction, imaging and optical/infrared spectroscopic techniques. He has made a series of pioneering contributions to ultrafast electron diffraction and its application to diverse problems in materials physics. This includes the development of technologies and experimental methodologies that pushed the time-resolution of high-brightness UED into the femtosecond regime (compact sources and radio-frequency pulse compression). In 2005 he received the Natural Science and Engineering Research Council of Canada Doctoral Prize for his contributions to the field of ultrafast electron diffraction. He held the Canada Research Chair in Ultrafast Science (2006 – 2016) and co-founded the Banff Meeting on Structural Dynamics in 2010.

Toshinori Suzuki
Department of Chemistry
Kyoto University
Kitashirakawa-Oiwakecho, Sakyo-ku 
Kyoto 606-8502 JAPAN

Dr. Suzuki received PhD degree in 1988 from Tohoku University in Japan. From 1988 to 1990, he worked as a research associate at the Institute for Molecular Science (IMS). Between 1990 and 1992, he became a JSPS fellow for research abroad and carried out research on molecular beam scattering at Cornell University and the University of California-Berkeley. In 1992, he returned to Japan as an associate professor at IMS and Graduate University for Advanced Studies and started his experimental research group on chemical reaction dynamics. In 2001, he moved to RIKEN to be the director of the Chemical Dynamics Laboratory. Since 2009, he has been a professor of chemistry at the Graduate School of Science of Kyoto University. He is also a visiting professor at the Infrared Free Electron Laser Research Center at the Tokyo University of Science.

Research Interests: Molecular beam scattering and ultrafast spectroscopies of chemical reaction dynamics in gas and liquid phases using table-top ultrafast lasers, synchrotron radiation, and free electron lasers.
Professional Activities and Awards: Dr. Suzuki served as a president of the Japan Society for Molecular Science from 2010 to 2012. He is an editorial board member for Molecular Physics and the Journal of Chemical Physics. He has received numerous awards, including the Broida Award from the International Symposium on Free Radicals; IBM Japan Science Award; Japan Society for Promotion of Science Award; Commendation for Science and Technology by Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology in Japan; and The Chemical Society of Japan Award for Creative Work.