Professors Syukuro Manabe, Klaus Hasselmann, and Giorgio Parisi will share the 2021 Nobel Prize in Physics for their work on the stochastic computer modeling of complex systems—Manabe and Hasselmann in particular for weather and climate modeling, and Parisi for the spin-glass problem (which in turn extends to many other problems and scales). Their work includes modeling of human-caused warming interactions on global temperature and climate.

The Nobel Prizes always generate hopeful, positive interest in physics in my students and the general public. Climate change in particular is one of the great challenges and interests of our day. My students are entertained with the STEM culture story of Alfred Nobel’s premature obituary influencing the subsequent establishment of the prize—“Merchant of Death” makes good, indeed.

AAPT members receive access to The Physics Teacher and the American Journal of Physics as a member benefit. To learn more about this member benefit and becoming an AAPT member, visit the Joining AAPT page.